MEDIA CONTACT: Stephen L. Scott
Computer Science and Mathematics
(865) 574-3144

OSCAR Symposium 2003
May 11-14, 2003

The OSCAR Symposium 2003 will be held May 11-14, 2003 in conjunction with the 17th Annual International Symposium on High Performance Computing Systems and Applications at the Delta Hotel located in Sherbrooke (Quebec) Canada. With over 70,000 downloads since its first public release in April 2001, OSCAR's popularity speaks to its effectiveness in providing cluster installation, management, and computing software stack. This will be the first OSCAR meeting to be opened to the community for the submission of papers for peer review.

Topics of interest:
Computing as it relates to OSCAR (Open Source Cluster Application Resources) including but not limited to the following:

  • Experiences using the OSCAR environment
  • Packages to consider for inclusion in future OSCAR versions
  • Cluster and Grid as it relates to OSCAR
  • Experiences creating OSCAR packages
  • Proposals for new OSCAR projects (ie, high-availability and diskless OSCAR)
  • Experiences creating new OSCAR distributions

Submission Guidelines:
Original, unpublished work is required. Manuscripts must not exceed 6 pages (in two columns, 10 points), including tables and illustrations. Details on the format to follow for final submission can be found on the Web site. Accepted contributions will be published in the proceedings, which will be available at the conference. Please send all manuscripts by email, in Postscript or PDF format to:

Deadlines: February 1, 2003 Full Manuscript due
February 14, 2003 Notification of acceptance
March 14, 2003 Final manuscript due (camera ready)
March 14, 2003 Early Registration

Only manuscripts with one of the authors registered by March 14, 2003 will be published. Submission will be electronic only. Registration payments can only be made by credit card (VISA or Mastercard).

See conference web site below.

Conference Co-Chairs:
Benoit des Ligneris
Sherbrooke University
    Stephen L. Scott
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Program Committee:
Steven DuChene
Rich Ferri (IBM)
Ibrahim Haddad (Ericsson, CA)
Benoit des Ligneris (Sherbrooke University)
Tim Mattson (Intel)
Stephen L. Scott (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
Alain Veilleux (Sherbrooke University)

Conference Web site: (OSCAR conference web site) (HPCS conference web site)

OSCAR Web site:

This page is part of the CSMD web archive and is not maintained.
Please visit for the latest CSMD information.