home  |  about us  |  contact  

This page is part of the CSMD web archive and is not maintained.
Please visit csm.ornl.gov/newsite for the latest CSMD information.


CSM's Dennis Wolf part of ORNL team winning R&D 100 Award

Researchers and engineers at ORNL have won three R&D 100 Awards this year, pushing their national lab-leading total to 107 since the awards began in 1963.

The awards are presented annually by R&D Magazine in recognition of the year's most significant technological innovations. ORNL's 107 R&D 100 awards place it first among DOE laboratories and second only to General Electric. This year's winners from ORNL are: the Differentially Deposited X-ray Microfocusing Mirrors, High-Thermal-Conductivity Graphite Foam, and the Block II Chemical Biological Mass Spectrometer.

The Block II Chemical Biological Mass Spectrometer is a joint ORNL winner with Orbital Sciences Corp. of Pomona, Calif.; MSP Corp. of Minneapolis; Colorado School of Mines in Golden, Colo.; and the U.S. Army Soldier and Biological Chemical Command, Arberdeen Proving Ground, Md.

This is the first integrated instrument capable of detecting and identifying both chemical warfare agents and biological warfare agents in the field. It combines the detection speed, sensitivity and specificity necessary for environmental detection of highly diverse classes of materials.

It was developed by Wayne Griest, William Andrews Jr., Don Bible, Eric Breeding, Michael Burnett, Kim Castleberry, Dwight Clayton, Richard Crutcher, Kevin Hart, Mike Hileman, Ralph Ilgner, Bruce Jatko, Roger Jenkins, Stephen Lammert, David McMillan, Randy McPherson, Roosevelt Merriweather, Richard Reid, Irene Robbins, David Smith, Robert Smith, Carl Sohns, Ann Stewart, Cynthia Terry, Cyril Thompson, Arpad Vass, Rob Whitaker, Marcus Wise, Dennis Wolf, Wes Wysor and Judy Zager of ORNL. Photo shows Meriweather and Rob Smith.